GreekFire Updates – Hello, M and Entity Framework

This update contains some big changes. You can get this source code here.

The first deployment of the source was very basic.

It didn’t really show anything new or flashy. I did dabble a bit into writing tests in a BDD fashion (or at least attempt to).

I am going to detail out some of the new changes in this source. Naturally there are tests for all the new classes and functionality.

 

IChangeSet

IChangeSet now only has the GetInserts, GetDeletes, and GetUpdates methods. My thoughts are that the ChangeSet is supposed to only be a readonly entity allowing for investigation into the Unity Of Work. Having the Add methods and Reset exposed too much functionality. A DataContext will just be coupled to its ChangeSet for now. I don’t see any harm in that coupling.

 

M Model

I created an M file to start building up my domain. I think M is fantastic! I am not a database guru by any stretch so being able to write out a domain in a very readable and manageable syntax is awesome.

module GreekFireExpense
{
    type Expense
    {
        Id : Integer64 = AutoNumber();
        Description : Text;
        Title : Text;
        Amount : Decimal28;
    } where identity Id;
    ExpenseTable : Expense*;
}

I haven’t found a sufficient manner to run the SQL scripts or the M compiler with specific arguments from VS right now. So I am still using IntelliPad to generate the SQL (I am also not a command line guru).

 

Entity Framework

After creating the database, I created an Entity Framework project. I am created a new DataContext to work with the EntityFramework.

Also the Entities from the Entity Framework do not ‘live’ past the DataContext. The DataContext manages the mapping between my Data Entities and my Domain Entities.

