Coding, Blink, and the Smell Test

I’ve recently been assigned a complicated use case and have been heads down working on finishing it up.

Mostly its been a great exercise in BDD requirements / story construction. I’ve stumbled, made mistakes, corrected mistakes, etc

I am still excited about BDD stories. I think with DDD and BDD and insert jargon here… there is a drive to pass the infamous smell test.

There are the developers that just code. They apply a technology and just swing code around to solve a problem. Comments and best practices and solid design be damned. It works! So what’s the problem?

Then there are the developers that have that passion and instinct to know something is wrong. The idea is similar to Gladwell’s Blink principle. These developers first just code and refactor in solo. I relate it to a ronin samurai. Maybe a Luke Skywalker before his time with Yoda. 😉

They then discover patterns and OMG.. the lights go on and you have an epiphany. There is a great book on font design by Robin Williams called The Non-Designer’s Design & Type Books. Chapter one is called The Joshua Tree Epiphany. Here is the quick summary. She picked up a tree book and the first tree was the Joshua Tree. She said to herself, “Oh, we don’t have that kind of tree in Northern California. That is a weird-looking tree. I would know if I saw that tree, and I’ve never seen one before.” She then went outside and immediately saw that her neighbors had Joshua trees. Yet she never ‘saw’ one before because she didn’t know what they were. This principle she describes simply saying :

*Once you can name something, you’re conscious of it. You have power over it. You own it. You’re in control.*

Once developers are exposed to patterns and understand patterns, a new world is opened up to them. And beyond patterns, there are principles. I recently listened to the Hansel Minutes with ‘Uncle Bob’ on the SOLID principles. I found myself saying.. exactly! a lot. The principles just resonate ‘rightness’.

Anyway, what I am trying to say is that on the road to becoming the best developer I can be, I am at the mastering DDD / BDD / TDD stage. I know they are right because when I execute them correctly, it feels right. When I mess things up, it feels wrong. In lots of ways it feels like I am on an intellectual adventure. Maybe like Lord of the Rings. Instead of the ring weighing down Frodo the closer he got to Mount Doom… the closer I get to mastery of these concepts the better I feel about development.

So anyway.. those are some random thoughts I’ve been having lately. Hence the low number of blog posts. I’ve been using the time to read (because I need to catch up!) and to practice the esoteric art of BDD stories. My current reference is Dan North’s site.

I will update Greek Fire soon with documents mostly. I want to have a readme file about setting up the database. I also want to have BDD stories to document the requirements for the domain, etc.

