Here’s another question related to Frank What should…

Here’s another question related to Frank: What should I do about converting existing platforms’ request and response types? I had originally planned on creating my own Request and Response types, but the cost to convert back and forth may or may not be worth it. I either have to create the conversions or a different set of operators per platform.

Functional programming really lends itself to the either, but the latter is a bit more exciting. Why? Take a look at Mauricio’s latest post on Figment. He’s refactored to the Reader monad. Let’s say Frank uses the Reader and Writer monads as a public API for managing web applications. I could then allow developers to use Figment as their implementation on top of ASP.NET and build additional adapters for WebSharper, WCF, OWIN, etc. Frank would then provide a simple, functional, DSL for routing and composing web applications, even using components built on different platforms… which has been the goal all along.

The best benefit, imho, is that developers already familiar with various request/response abstractions can continue using those abstractions. I don’t provide you with yet another HTTP abstraction. This is a significant departure from all other web frameworks of which I know. I suppose the benefit is balanced against the ease of building the adapter using the monad. Time to put functional programming to the test. I am quite certain that functional programming will win.

