The Origin of RESTful URLs

For at least the past year, I have repeatedly found my appreciation for the literal offended by the term “RESTful URLs.” I recently spent a bit of time trying to explain how this term is oxymoronic on the Web API Forums. While URIs are important as a means of identifying unique resources, REST doesn’t specify any other requirements for URIs. I often note that a RESTful URI could be a GUID. While this is certainly not very meaningful to humans, it satisfies the REST constraints.

While pondering nested resources in Web API yet again, I realized where I think this term originates. Ruby on Rails used the term “RESTful routing” to describe their approach to building Controllers along the line of resources and using a convention to route controllers in a hierarchy based on the controller name. The goal, I think, was to correctly model and mount resources at unique URIs. However, you get what I would call “pretty URLs” for free.

If you use the term “RESTful URLs,” please stop. While RESTful Routing makes sense, RESTful URLs are just nonsense. Do use “RESTful Routing.” Do use “Pretty URLs.” Just don’t confuse your terms. Thanks!

